2023 Word of the Year

Photo by Vlada Karpovich on Pexels.com

In 2022, I chose the word CELEBRATE to focus my year. As I look back on the year, I feel like I really lived that word. In the past, when I’ve made resolutions, they never seemed to stick. Since I’ve switched to a word of the year, I find it to be so much simpler because it’s one word, or maybe two, that can guide my intentions for the year.

As I’ve been thinking about 2023, two words keep coming to mind. I wanted to sit with them for a while to see if I could narrow it down to one, but I just couldn’t do it. So my two words for 2023 will be CONNECT and SHINE. Why these two words? Read on to find out.

CONNECT – After two years of being more inclined to stay at home, it’s time to get back out there again. The last quarter of this year I’ve traveled and been to parties, gatherings etc and it made me realize how much I missed connecting with people. There’s an energy that you get from being around people that you just can’t get at home or on a zoom call.

I started a new job back in July and it’s been so important for me to go into the office when we have meetings just to have that connection point and get to know people that I don’t know very well. Don’t get me wrong, I love working from home and all the flexibility it provides, but nothing can replace those times when I’m in the office and run into people in the elevator or dining center and get to catch up for a quick minute.

It’s not just about work, though. It’s important for me to make the time and effort with my friends and neighbors – grabbing a cup of coffee or taking a walk together, going to Zumba class and having dinner after, and maybe having people over again. Right before the pandemic began, I had started inviting a group of moms/neighbors over once a month just to get together and have a girl’s night. Our last gathering was a Galentine’s favorite things party – I loved bringing different friends, some who knew each other and some who didn’t, together for an evening of fun.

I have a friend who is so good at this – I often get an email or text from her saying “I’m going to this event on this day/time – come join me”. I love getting these invitations and I want to be more like this. I tend to invite others to do something and if they can’t do it, I don’t do it either. I like my friend’s approach better – here is something I’m interested in; come and join me if you can. You never know who is going to show up, but as a participant, it’s a great chance to meet new people or spend time with folks you already know. Maybe I’ll try her approach in 2023 and see how it works out for me.

SHINE – In 2022, I felt myself coming more into my own – moving into a new job, having more self-confidence, not worrying as much about what others think of me and what I’m doing. With that as a foundation, it feels like it’s time for me to shine; it’s easy and less scary to just go with the flow and not try to stand out but maybe it’s time to move away from the comfortable and lose the fear to “shine” a little more.

I was reading an article recently and it talked about the concept of shining a light; it mentioned that to shine, you have to have light. What gives us light, what energizes us? Is it work, or kids, or a hobby, or faith – it’s different for everyone, so it’s time to figure out what gives me light so that I can shine and, in return, be a light to others and help them shine too.

Do you have a resolution or word for 2023? I would love to hear it!

Leave a comment